AGM 2014


            new logo                    

Comann Eachdraidh Lios Mòr

Lismore Historical Society

A company limited by guarantee No SC234832



Annual General Meeting Saturday 31st May 2014

12.00 pm Museum Room


Present., Directors Duncan Livingstone (Chair), Jennifer Baker (Sec),  Archie MacGillivray, Bob Hay, John Livingstone,  Freda Drysdale, Memory McDonald, Catherine MacGregor 

Committee Members Duncan Drysdale (Treas) Margaret MacDonald, Barbara McDougall, Lorraine King, Duncan Ferguson, Maureen Mitchell, Ann MacLean Fleming.

Ian MacKinnon,  Marlene MacKinnon, Anne Livingstone, Julian Wormleighton, Carol Wormleighton, Stuart Ross, Sebastian Tombs, Catriona White, David Gloag, Eric Aynsley, Jim Mitchell, Dot Hay, Sarah Jones, Margaret MacColl, Alex MacLean, Agnes MacLean, Dot Hay, Mairi Campbell, Maureen Crossan, Helen Crossan, Cathie Carmichael, Lesley Hamilton, Beth Campbell. 


Pauline Dowling, Beathag Mhoireasdan, Laura Gloag, Peggy Nicholson.

Minutes of AGM 2013:

Approval of the minutes was proposed by Julian Wormleighton, seconded by Ian MacKinnon.

Chairperson’s Report:

Duncan Livingstone began his report by paying tribute to the late Donald Black. Co-founder of CELM who died last year.

He then delivered his Chairman’s Report outlining activities during 2013 – 2014 to date.

Treasurer’s Report:

Duncan Drysdale expressed regret that the accounts could not be approved at the meeting as a miscalculation re stock had just been discovered and so the accounts have to be re examined. The accounts will be presented at an EGM in one month’s time.

Curators’ Report: Bob Hay presented a report on behalf of curators including Anne Livingstone and Jennifer Baker. He highlighted the imminent return of the Viking gold and the Appin Head and the fact that this was possible due to our recent Accreditation Award.

Freda Drysdale offered a vote of thanks to Bob for the work done throughout the year.

Freda Drysdale reported on developments in the Cottage which was not included in the Accreditation process. The Historic Scotland advisory body has helped greatly with conservation – even although the building is not technically old.

Librarian’s Report

Barbara MacDougall reported on the library which now holds 600 books – 200 of which are Gaelic. Most are gifts but many are purchases.

Barbara also outlined the year’s events which involved children as well as adults.

The Argyll and Bute Library id managed by Freda Drysdale and her team.

Genealogist’s Report:

Laura Gloag was unable to attend the meeting so sent a written report.

Laura outlined the visits and requests that she has received over the past year. Work continues on tracing as many people as possible who emigrated from Lismore. A CD listing of of those found so far will be released as part of Homecoming 2014.

Election of Directors: The Chair stood down and demitted Mike Robertson as Temporary Chair. All of the present directors stood down.

Mike read out the list of twelve members who have put themselves forward for election to the Board.

Mike proposed an en bloc vote. Seconded by Julian Wormleighton. None were contested.

The Board is as follows:

Jennifer Baker                             Douglas Breingan                        Freda Drysdale

Lesley Hamilton                           Robert Hay                                 Margaret MacColl

Archie MacGillivray                      Catherine MacGregor                  Ann MacLean Fleming

Iain MacNicol                              Memory McDonald                      Beathag Mhoireasdan.

Appointment of Independent Inspectors

Simmers of Oban has been approached. This will be verified at the AGM.

There was discussion concerning publicity and marketing of the Centre. Bob Hay appealed for help as, apart from the café, the Centre is being run by volunteers and always more help is needed.

There was also discussion about the wisdom of the proposed combined meetings of CELM and Taic CELM over the next year, but it was felt that, as this had been recommended by Just Enterprise, we should go ahead for the moment.

Thanks was offered to Duncan Livingstone, our Chairman, who is retiring as a Director.

The meeting closed at 1.20


Date of EGM Thursday 3rd July. 7.30 in the Museum.